025 Matryoshka signature

signat 17This one was a little bit special one. I had been listening to the song (Matryoshka, sung by Hatsune Miku or Gumi or any other combination that you prefer) when the idea came to make a signature out of it. I went through all of the Matryoshka tag on Danbooru and came out with a folder full of interesting illustrations. I chose the two best ones to put together here… Or so I thought. Because these pictures are not even fan art: they’re official Vocalonexus (the album Matryoshka was published on) art. I can only suppose how I got these wallpapers: I went on the official Vocalonexus website when the album just came out (I tried going on vocalonexus.com but the site is down) and simply downloaded them from the downloadable content since they looked nice. Anyways, Gumi and Miku come from two different illustrations, and that’s about all I can say.

About the picture… It was quite simple to make, really. I simply had to stick the two pictures together, add the text in the center (the outline was made with the outline tool, I selected a gradient type outline, then a round type gradient and selected Gumi’s and Miku’s main colors; I may have picked a slightly lighter tone though). The background is actually the name of the song, written in Japanese Katakana (those are the characters used for foreign words). I used the same technique for the outline as the one for the main text, and simply copy-pasted the text over and over after tilting it. I reduced the opacity and, after transforming the text layer into an image layer (‘pixelate’ if I remember well), erased the parts that were over the characters, so as to make it look like the text was in the background. I finally added a little text to the side for the credits, and added the picture’s frame by the usual method, which will be in the next paragraph.

I usually do my frames as so: I make a new white or black layer, I never remember and always try the two, then go in ‘darken’ to make it ‘disappear’ from the picture. Then, I go in the layer add-ons and select the outline option. I then decide which thickness I want, sometimes going up to 3 to 4 pixels, depending on the effect I want. I usually play around with the options, colors, solid type or gradient type, until I find what I’m looking for. Here, I used a two-color ‘cone’ type gradient. By default, that would look like a black to white gradient, but in a spherical way, so as the solid black and white touch only at one angle, and the rest is a gradient. Now, obviously I didn’t want a white and black gradient, so I click on the little color bar on the bottom part of the dialog box and selected my colors (click at the top, not at the bottom; clicking in the middle or where there isn’t a little marker already will make a new color appear, though I haven’t tried what it does with this type of gradient yet).

And that’s about it ! For once, no ‘filters’, no overlays, no nothing. Simply the picture, copy-pasta and tralala. I think the original illustrator would actually call that stealing, simply and purely, but I put a credit for him/here because it was WAY too obvious this seemed too nice together and could’ve been mistaken for an original art- which it isn’t.

Ps: Sorry if the correct word isn’t ‘outline’, I’m always tempted to say ‘contour’ because that’s the French word, but the only equivalent I can find is ‘outline’.

Leave a Reply

