008 Two (more) signatures ! (+ mini Photoshop tutorial for the two of them)

First, please excuse me for not posting anything for almost a month. Exams, you know ? They kill free time. D:

A signature made up from multiple images that you're obviously not seeing.

A signature I made up from multiple images.

This is, without hesitation, the most “complex” image manipulation I made. It’s made from 5 images that appear clearly, and a 6th that I used as a “texture” (with a ‘fusion mode’). The first from the left-handed corner (up), with the red headphones, was drawn by fujiwara (ふじやまポテトフライ) (Pixiv page here), but I can’t seem to find the link to the original image on Pixiv, so here’s the link to the Danbooru page (NSFW adds, beware!) where you can find the pic I used. I really didn’t do much to this one, except adding the 6th image, used as a texture. For the second image to the right of that one, there isn’t even an author… So here’s the Danbooru page for that one. I thought it was Kagamine Len, a Vocaloid, but it seems like it’s a character from Persona 4. I only had to take off the background and put an orange flat color in the back of it. I used this image twice: the second time is the second picture from the right, on the top right-handed corner. Since I only needed a small part for that “frame”, I figured I’d better not get a whole other image. The third image, starting from the top left-handed corner, is my favorite. I planned on using the original picture in another signature, so I didn’t put the whole thing in. Since the cyan blue matched fairly with the rest, I only had to insert the picture into the frame (I’ll talk more about that part later). Here’s the Pixiv link to the original picture, and here’s the link to the author’s, “Shiro(reptil)” on Danbooru and しろ/青プP32 on Pixiv, Pixiv profile. As for the 4th image, here’s the Pixiv page (image) and here’s the author’s page, siroooo on Danbooru and 46 on Pixiv.. The 5th picture can be found here on Pixiv; the author’s name is himishiro on Danbooru and ひみしろ on Pixiv (here’s his/her page). This one was not intended to be a filler, but since I didn’t have much space left, that’s more of less what it became. Now for the 6th and last image, Pixiv page here, the author’s name is YiLee, Pixiv page for the author here (same name on Danbooru). This last one was quite big (2000 x 2000 pixels) so using it as a texture, without people noticing it was hair and not texture, was quite simple. Here’s how I did it.

[I will use the word “file” to name the image I work on.] I started out by making a simple rectangle with the Shape tool. I flattened it by merging it with a new empty layer, then I entered “Transformation mode” (Ctrl+T) and turned it ~ -10°. I hit Enter to exit  “Transformation mode” (I don’t know how to say this any other way… I work with Photoshop in French since I got it in 2010 :/) and duplicated the layer multiple times (Alt, and then drag the duplicated layer where you want) to fill half of the file. Then I took my 5 images and put them on the file. In the Layers window, I put one image “over”/”on top of” each rectangle I previously made and created a clipping mask (Alt+Ctrl+G) for each of them, and then I resized them to only see the part I needed to see. Next, for the “frames” (or borders, as you want it), I simply clicked twice on a rectangle layer which opened a new window with a handful of options, checked/ticked & clicked on “Border” in the menu on the left. I put a thickness of 2 pixels, then selected Gradient in the “Fill type:” menu. I selected a green to white gradient with the little arrow pointing downwards next to a black to white gradient and in the “Style:” menu, I selected an option with would translate to “exploded form” in English. Simply put, just select the last one in the list, after the “Diamond” style. I realize this can be difficult to understand, since I translate both my thoughts and software at the same time and the way I explain is already confused in French but… This is the way to have images with a double-colored border. Using the same method, with a 3 pixel thickness and a gradient made of 3 colors, you could do the same thing.

After doing all that (^), I simply put everything thing I just made into a group, duplicated it (because I am a true paranoiac) and flattened the images together (not with the layer titled “Background” or the rest, though; only the group with itself). Then I took the 6th image, put it “above” the new layer (something like “New layer 17”), created a clipping mask, ajusted/rezised the thing and Voilà ! No obscure and complicated color adjustment needed. I do love the “Fusion mode” (Google TRanslate says it’s Blending mode but I don’t trust him… I still do not know if that’s really its English version but… meh).

Obvious C4D is obvious. That is partly what I used for the background of the whole thing; I used a texture (link to it here – made by a Make-Your-Horse forum member that kind of disappeared/took a new name, Cartatoto) and, indeed, a C4D, “t317051_C4D33“, that I already mentioned/used in my 6th article. I tend to use the same C4Ds since I only have 9 of them and am lazy to go searching for more/others.

For the text, I (only) used a font called “Matrix Code NF1” that should come from Dafont. The stuff I wrote was quite improvised on the moment (as you can see if you read what’s written right under Link)… I don’t really like this signature, to be completely honest, but I tried out a lot of stuff and it’s more or less O.K.

 We may now go on to the second signature.

Did I hear a Hallelujah over there… ? Must’ve been my imagination…

A greenish-blue-yellow signature that you're obviously not seeing.

The signature I mentioned when talking about the one right above. I really like this one.

For those who got a glimpse of my AMV, you know about the whole “Analog Marmelade” thing; how it’s an improvised title inspired by one of Vibrasphere’s songs, “Analog Marinade”, and that it doesn’t mean anything – well, that’s still true.

This was made out of image  #3 and image #6 from the first signature in this post. I also used a C4D for the background, that you can find over here. I used a free pattern I found a few days before, that you can find here (to install stuff in .PAT into Photoshop, you need to do the exact same thing as when you “load” brushes, only in the pattern “menu” – 1: click on bucket tool 2: when you click, a bucket pic should appear in the top left corner; to the right of it, there will be a drop-down menu where “foreground color” is selected; select “Pattern” 3:to the right of this, there is a little preview of what the selected pattern looks like; click on the arrow pointing downwards right next to the preview thingy; another drop-down menu appears, and there’s an arrow pointing to the right that appears in this menu; click on that second arrow 4:click on “Load patterns” [or something similar] and select your .PAT file 5:you’re done!).

In this one, I used a load clipping masks. There’s a clipping mask for the guy’s skin color; there’s another one for his hair. The clipped thing was always “image #6”. Then I made a ANALOG MARMELADE text layer, duplicated it with Alt, made a separate one for ANALOG and then MARMELADE, put an “exterior glow” on it, and Voilà ! I used another clipping mask when I used the Hexagon pattern. I first made a black to white gradient on a layer, applied the pattern on a separate layer, clipped the pattern on the gradient layer, and then played with the “Blending options”. “Image #6” appears in the background too, as does the texture I mentioned. The font I used is hooge 05_53, which came in a superb package, along with a Visual Style Nostromo made last February, “Sulaco Visual Style“.

Long detailed articles for the win ! 

One response to “008 Two (more) signatures ! (+ mini Photoshop tutorial for the two of them)

  1. My spouse and i were very ecstatic when Jordan could finish up his basic research through the ideas he was given from your very own weblog. It is now and again perplexing just to continually be giving freely guidelines which often most people could have been selling. We fully grasp we’ve got the website owner to thank for that. Most of the explanations you have made, the easy website menu, the relationships your site help instill – it’s got most remarkable, and it’s really leading our son and us know that this subject matter is thrilling, and that’s exceptionally indispensable. Thanks for the whole thing!

Leave a Reply

