005 Halloween signature

A forum signature for Halloween that you're obviously not seeing (maybe because it's 3 MB big).

A (zombie) forum signature, for Halloween. This is a Gif and it’s animated !

 

So this is… a signature. I actually don’t know how to say this in English, but let’s say you know what I’m talking about, okay ? You know, when you’re on a forum (Big parenthesis: if I keep saying ‘forum’ instead of ‘forums’, well… it’s because the French words for ‘forums’ is ‘forum‘ and… uh… yeah.) and you post a message on a thread ? On some forums, there’s this option that authorizes users to have a ‘forum signature’, in which you can put text, a video, images, or whatever you want. Well, there’s this French forum on which I am ALSO an administrator (I luv forums <3) and for which I make myself a signature every month on so, usually when inspiration (or “artist’s UNblock”) hits me.

It’s actually a forum for Hordes.fr, which is the (original) French version of the zombie survival game Die2Nite. Usually the updates are tested on us, the French server, and then they put some parts of it on the two other servers (the third one is a German one, DieVerdammten). That makes the French server react like (watch out, big words coming up!) bitches about every update they get and the English server’s Hordes.fr’s players as a soothsayer (for now, thank you, Google Translate) of updates to come. If you see me on either of these as Phera or Shem, I probably won’t eat you (Hordes/D2N/DV fans, you can see what I did there 8]) so please declare that you know me from elsewhere… e_e

Getting back to the topic ! Here are the credits: first illustration by Agasang (ガガミング) (OH MY GOSH AN UMINKO NO NAKU KORO NI FAN! O_O), Pixiv Page here and WebSite here(from the news on the Main page, it looks like it hasn’t been updated since 2010, but there are still great pieces there – it even looks like he’s drawing some manga). Danbooru page (watch out for NSFW adds!) for the drawing here, since it comes from a game I don’t know of, Fatal Frame, and have the laziness to explore and explain. Oh and by the way, since I found his/her blog too (thanks to Danbooru)… It’s in Korean, but it looks like it’s updated quite frequently. GORGEOUS ARTWORK ONCE A WEEK, OHMYGOSH YESYESYES.

As for the second image, I simply can’t seem to find the artist’s page (I think it’s labeled as missing on Yahoo!) so I’m just going to put the pic’ Danbooru page (the NSFW adds are still there!) again.

Moving on ! This animation took me a liiittle less than two hours (which is kind of unusual). I thought that it would be over in more or less thirty minutes, but it was a little more complicated that I initially estimated it. The main problem came of the transparency that had to change gradually from frame to frame, though when you add layers in Photoshop CS4, you tend to get the problem of the layer appearing on every frame… So yeah, when I added the last few layers for the “second part” of the animation (with the second image), it almost became… chaos-suh(say it with The Joker’s style). First I wanted the red/normal color switch to last more, but I noticed it simply became annoying and a bit cliché after a while. I didn’t want the whole animation to end to abruptly, that’s mostly the reason for the second part’s existence.

…I think that’ll be all for this one.

One response to “005 Halloween signature

  1. I’m impressed, I must say. Actually rarely do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you could have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is excellent; the problem is one thing that not sufficient persons are talking intelligently about. I’m very comfortable that I stumbled across this in my search for one thing regarding this.

Leave a Reply

